
Disclosure: GlowUp Face publishes this page and sells one of the products compared here. That gives us a financial interest in your choice.
If you want a Umax alternative without a subscription, there are three honest choices: one report, free tracking tools, or a fixed-photo routine. GlowUp Face is the pay-once option discussed here, but it gives one report rather than lifetime rescans. Umax is still the better fit if you want its ratings, native app, and the progress routines its listing describes.
What Umax currently charges
Umax is free to install, but its public listing says results require a subscription and extra scans require another purchase. On 31 July 2026, the UK App Store listed Weekly Premium items from £3.99 to £9.99. Monthly Premium items ran from £9.99 to £24.99. The listing does not state which offer a new customer will see.
Umax's live terms page, last updated on 16 October 2023, says new registrants receive a three-day trial before the chosen subscription begins. Neither current store listing states a trial length, so check the paywall shown on your phone before accepting it.
Free download does not mean free results here.
Umax and GlowUp Face compared
| Attribute | Umax | GlowUp Face |
|---|---|---|
| What you get | Selfie analysis and ratings. The public listing does not state the scoring basis. | Selected signals in the preview. The full report ranks visible signals and adds hairstyle views, a potential portrait, a 30-day plan, and a PDF. |
| Rating | Yes. The App Store describes the product as giving ratings. | No attractiveness score, percentile, or ranking against other people. |
| Free access | Free app installation. Analysis results require a subscription. An ongoing free-result tier is not stated publicly. | A partial preview opens after a valid email. No payment card is needed for that preview. |
| Payment | The UK App Store lists weekly and monthly Premium subscriptions. Additional scans require another purchase. | One-time payment for one full report. The regional price appears at checkout. |
| Platform and history | Native iPhone and Android apps. Its 2024 version history names progress routines, while its privacy policy mentions access to earlier scans. Streaks and automatic re-scan timing are not stated publicly. | Browser service in English, Russian, Brazilian Portuguese, Kazakh and Japanese. There is no account history, automatic timeline, or built-in re-scan schedule. |
| What happens to your photo | Umax's live policy, last updated in 2023, says it collects selfies and may process biometric data. It may share data with analytics and storage providers. Face scans may remain for up to one year. Model-training use is not stated publicly. | The photo is processed on the server. It may enter a private operations channel or private archive. Generated work may also enter the private team channel. There is no public gallery. |
Checked on 31 July 2026 on Umax's UK App Store, Google Play, Terms, and Privacy pages. We also checked GlowUp Face's Face Data Privacy page. Prices and plans change, so check the current store and checkout before paying.
Option 1: buy one report
A one-time report suits you when you want a starting point and plan to act without an app-led habit loop. The payment ends after that report and does not turn into a weekly or monthly bill.
GlowUp Face's one-time AI face scan uses one clear, front-facing photo, and its free preview shows selected signals after you enter a valid email. The full report covers acne, visible pores, redness, shine, dark circles, and skin tone, with symmetry and framing measures as context.
The paid report puts those signals in a suggested fix order and adds six hairstyle panels, a potential portrait, a 30-day routine, and a PDF. It is not a diagnosis and will not tell you how attractive you are.
There is a privacy trade-off: analysis runs on the server, while some source photos may enter a private archive or operations channel. Portrait and hairstyle rendering sends the image to OpenAI, so read the face-data policy before uploading.
Option 2: use genuinely free tools
The cleanest free option is already on your phone: its camera, photo album, and notes app, which give no score or automated advice. They do give you a dated record without another product paywall.
You can also use a free spreadsheet to log visible signals consistently, such as inflamed spots, the area of redness, or visible shine. Keep the categories unchanged, because a changing checklist can create progress that exists only on paper.
Be strict with anything marketed as a free Umax alternative by asking whether the result appears before a card, trial, email, or referral task. “Free scan” can mean only that the upload screen is free, so read the photo-retention terms before sending a face image.
Option 3: build a fixed-photo routine
A manual routine is the best choice when you care about change over time, not a single interpretation. It costs nothing, but you must control the photograph.
Austin Cronin and colleagues photographed nine skin-tone swatches with one Samsung phone under controlled conditions. Changing the angle altered measured lightness and color, while changing distance altered lightness; flash did not consistently remove that variation. The experiment used paper swatches, not faces, so it does not validate any consumer scanner but supports comparing matched photos.
- Choose one indoor spot with light you can repeat. Avoid mixing window light with room lights.
- Use the same phone, lens, camera height, and distance. Mark the phone and foot positions.
- Face the camera straight on with a neutral expression. Keep your hair and framing consistent.
- Turn off beauty filters, portrait effects, and automatic retouching. Keep flash use unchanged.
- Save the original image with the date. Do not compare an edited copy with an original.
- Pick a weekly or monthly interval. Judge the sequence, not the worst photo in the set.
This routine reduces avoidable photo noise, but it does not produce clinical measurements or diagnose a skin condition.

What a one-time report does not give you
Pay once is not lifetime access: with GlowUp Face, one purchase covers one full report. There are no daily check-ins, weekly prompts, streaks, push notifications, offline mode, or automatic progress timeline.
That limit matters if consistency is your main problem. A polished report can tell you where to start, but it cannot make you return next Tuesday. You must build the reminder and photo log yourself.
The browser format is another trade-off, with no installed iOS or Android app, home-screen icon, or app history. The free preview is partial and requires a valid email.
Where Umax is stronger
Umax gives a rating, which is the point for some buyers, although its public pages do not explain the scoring basis. GlowUp Face deliberately refuses to rank your attractiveness, so choose Umax if you want a number to compare with friends.
Umax also offers native iPhone and Android apps, and its February 2024 App Store history names routines that help track progress. Its privacy policy says earlier results can remain available for up to one year, while GlowUp Face has no saved account history.
If those routine features appear in your current build, Umax is the better buy for an app-led progress experience. Check the full cost first. Its current listing says additional scans require another purchase, so a subscription does not promise unlimited rescans.
Which option should you pick?
Choose GlowUp Face if you want one detailed, non-rating report and do not want recurring billing. It fits a reader who can follow a plan independently. It is the wrong choice if you want built-in tracking, an installed app, or a social score.
Choose the free photo routine if your goal is simply to see whether your skin or grooming changed. It asks more work from you, but leaves no trial to cancel. It also avoids pretending that one selfie is a permanent verdict.
Choose Umax if its rating and native mobile app matter more than avoiding a subscription. That is a valid preference. Just judge the subscription and extra-scan price together.
FAQ

Can you use Umax without paying?
You can install it free. The current official listing says analysis results require a subscription and extra scans require another purchase.
What is the best free Umax alternative?
A fixed photo log is genuinely free and useful for tracking. It does not supply a rating, automated analysis, or personalized plan.
Is a one-time report lifetime access?
No. GlowUp Face charges once for one full report. It does not include unlimited scans, a progress history, or future reports.
How do I cancel a Umax trial?
Use the store that billed you. On iPhone, open Settings > your name > Subscriptions; on Android, open Google Play > Payments and subscriptions > Subscriptions. Choose Umax and cancel before the renewal date shown there.

Oscar Nascimento
Editorial writer, GlowUp Face
Oscar writes about evidence-based skin care, healthcare, looksmaxxing, and the social and economic research surrounding appearance.
Full profile and all articles →







