AI AnalysisArticle•30 Jul 2026

GlowUp Face vs Umax: What Each One Actually Tells You

Compare GlowUp Face vs Umax on selfie results, face ratings, free and paid access, subscriptions, photo handling, platforms, and who each suits.

Oscar NascimentoPublished Updated
GlowUp Face vs Umax: What Each One Actually Tells You

Disclosure: GlowUp Face publishes this page and sells one of the products being compared. That gives us a commercial interest in the outcome.

The GlowUp Face vs Umax decision starts with one question: do you want a rating or a report? Umax is the better fit if you want face scores you can read and share; GlowUp Face gives no attractiveness score. It returns separate skin and framing readings, then turns them into a ranked plan. Umax's analysis results require a subscription, while GlowUp Face sells one report through a one-time payment.

What each one returns from a selfie

GlowUp Face runs in your browser, uses one clear front-facing photo, and reveals selected signals after you enter a valid email. The full report covers acne, visible pores, redness, shine, dark circles, and skin tone, with symmetry, proportions, hairline, and hairstyle framing as context.

The paid report puts those signals in fix order, then adds your current hairstyle and five rendered options with one match highlighted. You also get an illustrative “potential” portrait, a 30-day morning and evening plan, treatment nights, and a downloadable PDF. You can inspect the output format on the AI face scan page.

Umax is an installed mobile app whose official store pages say you take a selfie and receive analysis. The store screenshots show ratings for Overall, Potential, Jawline, Cheekbones, Skin Quality, and Masculinity. Other screens label canthal tilt, eye shape, eye type, face shape, maxilla development, and nose shape. A further screen offers recommendation categories for styling, skincare, eyebrows, and the jaw area.

GlowUp Face vs Umax at a glance

What you are comparingGlowUp FaceUmax
What you getSeparate visible-skin readings, supporting face and hair framing context, ranked priorities, hairstyle views, a 30-day plan, and a PDF in the full reportNumeric face and feature ratings, descriptive feature labels, and recommendation categories
Attractiveness ratingNone. It does not produce a hot-or-not score, percentile, or rankingYes. Official screenshots show Overall, Potential, and several feature ratings
Free accessA partial preview after a valid emailFree to install. Its 2023 terms describe a three-day trial, while the current App Store says analysis results require a subscription
Payment modelOne-time payment for one full report; no subscription or recurring chargeWeekly, monthly, and yearly Premium options are listed; additional scans require an additional purchase
PlatformBrowser in English or Russian; no iOS or Android appInstalled app on iPhone and Android
Photo handlingServer analysis; some images may enter private archives or operations channels, and renders go to OpenAICollects selfies and may process biometric data; scans may be kept for previous results for up to one year
Repeat useNo built-in daily or weekly tracking, streak, automatic progress timeline, account history, or push notificationsVersion notes mention glow-up routines intended to help track progress; the privacy policy refers to previous scan results

Checked on 30 July 2026 using GlowUp Face's photo-privacy page. We also opened Umax's UK App Store, Google Play listing, privacy policy, and terms page. Prices and plans change, so check the current checkout or app-store paywall yourself.

What the numbers are based on

Umax's score is the product for people who want one. The rating panel gives one quick result and feature scores that are easy to discuss or share, which is a real advantage. GlowUp Face cannot replace that experience because it does not calculate an attractiveness score.

Umax's score formula, feature weights, reference population, training set, and validation results: Not stated publicly. Its pages do not explain what separates an Overall 70 from an 80. Treat the figures as Umax ratings, not as clinical grades or a published percentile.

GlowUp Face instead reports what its image pipeline sees across acne, pores, redness, oiliness, dark circles, and tone. Symmetry and proportions add context, not a judgement of your worth or a claim about how strangers see you.

The missing headline score has a cost: you cannot compare one GlowUp Face number with friends or watch a single rating rise over time. If that is your reason for scanning, choose Umax.

Both products read photographs, not your face under every condition. Soo Hong Seo and colleagues tested digital skin-colour measurement under controlled lighting. They checked colour-chart photos against a lab colour meter. Accuracy improved with a suitable light filter, and daylight-like light with fixed white balance worked best in their setup. This was a camera-calibration study, not a product test, but it explains why matched lighting matters when you compare readings.

Free tier, paid access, and recurring charges

GlowUp Face's free preview is partial and needs a valid email before it opens. The full report uses a one-time payment, and one purchase covers one report. There is no renewal, but there is also no bundle of future scans.

Umax is free to download, but that is not the same as a free analysis tier. Its current App Store description says analysis results require a subscription and additional scans require an additional purchase.

Umax's published terms say new registrants get a three-day free trial before their chosen subscription is charged. That page was last updated in October 2023. The current App Store copy does not repeat the trial, so check whether your live paywall offers it.

On 30 July 2026, the UK App Store listed Weekly Premium at £3.99. It listed Monthly Premium at £12.99 and £24.99, and Yearly Premium at £49.99 and £99.99. Separate add-ons also appeared. Why some plan names have two prices: Not stated publicly. Check the offer shown on your device before paying.

The trade is simple: GlowUp Face makes you pay again only when you choose another report. Umax offers a continuing app experience, but its analysis results require a subscription and additional scans require an additional purchase.

GlowUp Face vs Umax: What Each One Actually Tells You

What happens to your photo

GlowUp Face processes the upload on its server, and a completed report leaves server memory after up to one hour by default. That timer does not cover every copy: a source image may enter a private bucket or the team's private operations channel. Portrait and hairstyle rendering sends the image to OpenAI.

GlowUp Face does not add uploads to its own training data. Private archives and operational records may need manual deletion because they sit outside the short memory timer. The face-data policy explains the current path and how to request deletion.

Umax's privacy policy says it collects selfies and may process biometric data. Its servers are in the United States, and it may use data-storage and analytics providers. The policy says face scans may be kept so you can access previous results, with a maximum of one year. Google Play says data is encrypted in transit and deletion can be requested.

Whether Umax trains its models on uploads and which image-processing vendors it uses: Not stated publicly. If either point changes your decision, ask Umax before uploading rather than assuming.

Where Umax is stronger

First, Umax gives you the number through ratings for Overall, Potential, jawline, cheekbones, skin quality, and masculinity. If you want a quick score to view or share, Umax serves that need and GlowUp Face does not.

Second, Umax is a mobile app on both major phone platforms, and its App Store notes mention glow-up routines intended to help track progress. Its privacy policy also describes keeping scans for access to previous results. GlowUp Face has no home-screen icon, account history, daily or weekly tracking, progress chart, streak, push notification, or offline mode.

Those strengths matter if repetition keeps you engaged, but less if you want one detailed report without another recurring plan.

Which one should you pick?

Pick Umax if your main question is, “What score did I get?” It also fits better if you want an installed app, shareable ratings, routines, and access to earlier results. Read the paywall carefully because analysis results require a subscription and additional scans require an additional purchase.

Pick GlowUp Face if you want separate skin and framing signals, hairstyle options, and a 30-day plan without an attractiveness rating. It suits a one-off review better than ongoing tracking. The one-time payment is easier to contain, but one purchase buys only one report.

Do not pick GlowUp Face if you want a number, a native app, push notifications, offline use, or a progress timeline. Do not pick either tool for a skin diagnosis because a dermatologist can assess disease; a selfie product cannot.

FAQ

GlowUp Face vs Umax: What Each One Actually Tells You

Is Umax free or does it require a subscription?

Umax is free to install, but its App Store description says analysis results require a subscription and additional scans require an additional purchase.

Does GlowUp Face give an attractiveness score?

No. It gives separate image-based readings and supporting context, but no overall attractiveness score, percentile, or ranking against other people.

Does Umax save your photos?

Umax may keep face scans for previous results for up to one year, and its policy provides a deletion-request process.

Can I use either product to track progress?

Umax mentions glow-up routines and previous results. An automatic score timeline: Not stated publicly. GlowUp Face needs separate reports and closely matched photos because it has no built-in timeline.

Browse more guides on this topic
Oscar Nascimento — Editorial writer
About the author

Oscar Nascimento

Editorial writer, GlowUp Face

Oscar writes about evidence-based skin care, healthcare, looksmaxxing, and the social and economic research surrounding appearance.

Full profile and all articles →

Related research

View all research